Jesus Knows My Name

Today is Friday, April 21, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“Love is the beauty of the soul.” ~ Saint Augustine

Word of the Day

Jammy ~ very lucky (British)

Today is Chocolate Covered Cashews Day. These are two things that I love, combined together. Sometimes that doesn’t work well, as in the instance when Blue Bell Ice Cream tried combining Cookies and Cream with Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough. For me, that just didn’t work. But chocolate and cashews? Win, win, win! Unfortunately, I doubt I will be able to get my hands on any of those today. I have some cashews, though. And I have some chocolate. Maybe I can improvise.

I’m still not feeling great. In fact, last night, I started feeling a little worse, but in a different area. The chest feels better, but my face is feeling pretty rough. Well, to clarify, the parts behind my face. Sinus area, in other words. But I’m sucking it up and going to work. And I’m going to that concert tonight, too. The Choir is performing at The Bedrock Club in Bedford, which is part of First UMC Bedford. I’ve been looking forward to this show for a long time.

The Rangers and Red Sox both won their games, yesterday. The Sox, at 10-6, remain in third place, just a game out of first. The Rangers are still holding down the cellar, with a 6-10 record, five games out of first.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually!
Psalm 105:4
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.

O God, you know my folly; the wrongs I have done are not hidden from you.
Psalm 69:5
When iniquities prevail against me, you atone for our transgressions.
Psalm 65:3
  You have set our iniquities before you, our secret sins in the light of your presence. 
For all our days pass away under your wrath; we bring our years to an end like a sigh. 
The years of our life are seventy, or even by reason of strength eighty; yet their span is but toil and trouble; they are soon gone, and we fly away. 
  Who considers the power of your anger, and your wrath according to the fear of you? 
  So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.

Psalm 90:8-12
Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be your Name.
May your kingdom come, and your will be done, on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil;
for yours are the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

(From Living the Message)

In a reading called “Personal Names,” Eugene Peterson discusses the modern trend of moving from “personal names to abstract labels.” He says that, when we allow this to happen, “we are less in touch with reality and diminished in our capacity to deal with what is best and at the center of life.” Here are some examples: In many cases, we are more concerned with the accuracy of our social security number than “the integrity with which we live.” To many people, the title they hold is more important than the work they do. Public image is more important than developing relationships. Do any of these sound familiar? Most of us, I’m sure have an “employee number” that is used much more than our names.

“Every time that we go along with this movement from the personal to the impersonal, from the immediate to the remote, from the concrete to the abstract, we are diminished, we are less.”

But there is good news. Jesus knows us by name.

The shepherd walks right up to the gate. The gatekeeper opens the gate to him and the sheep recognize his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.
John 10:2-3 (The Message)

I thank you, Jesus, that you know my name. What a blessing to know that, in this world of diminishing humanity down to statistics, my Savior knows my name! Father, I will listen as you sing over me and call my name. Blessed be your name!
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

