What You Think I Am

Today is Saturday, April 22, 2017.

I’m feeling a bit worse, this morning, and am about to head over to a Minute Clinic to get checked out. I’ve already written the devotional part below, and will need to skip the trivial stuff, this morning.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Oh, magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together!
Psalm 34:3
Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.
Psalm 119:18
I will give thanks to you, O Lord, among the peoples; I will sing praises to you among the nations. 
For your steadfast love is great to the heavens, your faithfulness to the clouds.

Psalm 57:9-10
Help us, O God of our salvation, for the glory of your name; deliver us, and atone for our sins, for your name’s sake!
Psalm 79:9

As I read the three devotional readings for this morning, none of them stuck out as something I wanted to share. So I’ll share something else that is frequently brought to my mind.

C and I went to hear The Choir last night, at a church in Bedford. There was a medium sized crowd of people close to our age, some younger, all of them pretty avid fans of this alt-Christian group that has been blessing us since the late eighties. The last song they played was my favorite song from their most recent album. The song is called “What You Think I Am.”

I really like the eerie sounding music of this song. That’s right up my alley, so to speak. But what I like the most is the lyrics.

Have you been rejected?
Have you been desired?
Have you been neglected?
Have you been set on fire?
I don’t practice voodoo
I don’t carry a gun
I don’t want to do to you
What you don’t want done

I’m nobody’s angel
I’m not that good
I’m no red devil
In the wicked wood
I’m a dedicated minister
And a downright sinister man
I’m a whole lot better
And a whole lot worse
Than what you think I am

Have you been degraded?
Have you been well schooled?
Have you been indoctrinated?
Have you been called a fool?
I’m not trying to sell you
What you won’t receive
I don’t need to tell you
What I do or I don’t believe

I’m nobody’s angel
That ain’t me
And what kinda devil
Do you think I be?
I’m a good Samaritan
And a very, very bad man
I’m a whole lot better
And a whole lot worse
Than what you think I am.

I’m especially fond of those lines that say, “I’m a dedicated minister and a downright sinister man,” and “I’m a good Samaritan and a very, very bad man.”

I identify with this song so much. Yes, I’m a “Christian,” a Christ-follower, a lover of Jesus and God. I try real hard to walk in his steps and follow his words, but I don’t always succeed. Sometimes, I’m a horrible person, judging people harshly without any care of how I act, myself. Exactly the kind of attitude that Jesus condemns. Sometimes, it’s easy for me to love people. Other times, I don’t want to be around anyone, and just don’t like people at all.

So, yes. I’m a whole lot better and a whole lot worse than what you think I am.

What’s the point of all this?

The point is that, even in this state of being, which is probably true for most of us, even if we don’t want to admit it, Jesus loves us and uses us. We need not despair, as long as we are trusting Jesus.

Father, I pray that you help me be “a whole lot better,” and forgive me when I’m “a whole lot worse.” I confess that I’m sometimes not a good person, and lean wholly on the arms of Jesus and his easy yoke.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

