I Am Not A Spectator

Today is Monday, April 24, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“It’s kind of fun to do the impossible.” ~ Walt Disney

Word of the Day

Synesthesia ~ a sensation produced in one modality when a stimulus is applied to another modality, as when the hearing of a certain sound induces the visualization of a certain color.

Today, to my most pleasant surprise, is Firefly Day. This must be a recent happening, because I don’t remember it from last year. At any rate, we are not, most definitely not, talking about the little, flying bugs. We are talking about one of the greatest TV shows to ever be mangled and cancelled by the Evil Empire known as FOX. Unfortunately, I will not be able to adequately celebrate, today, as I have band practice tonight. Maybe this weekend?

Real quick recap of things. I feel better, this morning, than I have felt in a week. Still not perfect, but much better. I will try to make it to band practice tonight, as it is the last rehearsal before this coming Saturday’s concert at Art in the Square in Southlake.

Today is the two year anniversary of the funeral of my father. We continue to remember those days, but we also continue to move on. In some ways, it seems impossible to have been two years already. In other ways, it seems a lifetime ago. That’s just for me. I can’t speak for anyone else. But I still miss him terribly. I think I can speak for all of us in that.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Oh sing to the LORD a new song, for he has done marvelous things! His right hand and his holy arm have worked salvation for him. 
The LORD has made known his salvation; he has revealed his righteousness in the sight of the nations. 
  He has remembered his steadfast love and faithfulness to the house of Israel. All the ends of the earth have seen the salvation of our God.

Psalm 98:1-3
Incline your ear to me; rescue me speedily! Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me! 
For you are my rock and my fortress; and for your name’s sake you lead me and guide me; 

Psalm 31:2-3
Oh, how abundant is your goodness, which you have stored up for those who fear you and worked for those who take refuge in you, in the sight of the children of mankind!
Psalm 31:19
Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the LORD!
Psalm 31:24
When the LORD restored the fortunes of Zion, we were like those who dream. 
Then our mouth was filled with laughter, and our tongue with shouts of joy; then they said among the nations, “The LORD has done great things for them.” 
The LORD has done great things for us; we are glad. 
  Restore our fortunes, O LORD, like streams in the Negeb! 
Those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy! 
  He who goes out weeping, bearing the seed for sowing, shall come home with shouts of joy, bringing his sheaves with him.

Psalm 126
Evening and morning and at noon I utter my complaint and moan, and he hears my voice. 
Psalm 55:17

(From Living the Message)

Today’s reading is “What Is God Doing?”

When it comes to sports, I am usually a spectator. There are a couple of sports that I participate in, occasionally, like golf and bowling. But I haven’t even played softball in a decade or two. Life, however, is not a sport, and I cannot be a spectator.

God is busy in our lives. “He is saving; he is rescuing; he is blessing; he is providing; he is judging; he is healing; he is enlightening.” In this world, there is a spiritual war going on, “an all-out moral battle. There is evil and cruelty, unhappiness and illness. There is superstition and ignorance, brutality and pain.” God is involved in an ongoing battle against all of these things. “God is for life and against death. God is for love and against hate. God is for hope and against despair. God is for heaven and against hell.” In spite of what we might think, there is no neutral ground in these things.

Jeremiah was chosen for God’s side before he was born. He was not allowed a few years to “look around and make up his mind which side he would be on, or even whether he would join a side at all.” He was born “as a combatant on God’s side.” So it is with all of us. “No one enters existence as a spectator.”

The world is unprincipled. It’s dog-eat-dog out there! The world doesn’t fight fair. But we don’t live or fight our battles that way—never have and never will. The tools of our trade aren’t for marketing or manipulation, but they are for demolishing that entire massively corrupt culture. We use our powerful God-tools for smashing warped philosophies, tearing down barriers erected against the truth of God . . .
2 Corinthians 10:3-5A (The Message)

Father, there have been times in my life when I have tried to be a spectator. But, for the most part, you have drawn me into participation in various ways, sometimes more outspoken than others. And there have been times when I have mis-applied your truths and words, and had the opposite effect that was desired. Today, I am moving down a path (I believe you are leading me) of quiet, consistent, discipline. Okay, maybe not so consistent. But I’m not giving up. I’m continuing to try. And I have the confidence that you will never give up on me. You have made that obvious, because there have been plenty of opportunities for you to do so, and here I still am. I am on your side. I was born on your side. And, unlike many that I have known in my life, I stayed on your side. That is not a boast in my ability. It is a boast in yours.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

