The Crow

Today is Tuesday, April 25, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.” ~ Aldous Huxley

Word of the Day

Dinkum ~ Australian; genuine; authentic.

Today is Hug A Plumber Day. I think I’ll pass, thank you. But you go ahead if you want to.

I’m continuing to feel better, still taking the medications that I got on Saturday. Band practice went well, last night, and I was able to play as well as can be expected, after missing the past week’s rehearsal.

Our concert will be Saturday afternoon at 5:30, if weather allows. There is about an 80% chance of rain for most of the day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

God has gone up with a shout, the LORD with the sound of a trumpet. 
  Sing praises to God, sing praises! Sing praises to our King, sing praises! 
For God is the King of all the earth; sing praises with a psalm! 
God reigns over the nations; God sits on his holy throne.

Psalm 47:5-8
May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you! May those who love your salvation say evermore, “God is great!”
Psalm 70:4
Out of Zion, the perfection of beauty, God shines forth.
Psalm 50:2
Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever receives the one I send receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me.
John 13:20
Consider and answer me, O LORD my God; light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death, 
lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,” lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken. 
But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation. 
I will sing to the LORD, because he has dealt bountifully with me.

Psalm 13:3-6
Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

(From Daily Guideposts 2017)

. . . he makes my feet like the deer’s; he makes me tread on my high places.
Habakkuk 3:19B

Karen Barber writes, in today’s reading, about going out for a morning walk, and telling God how unstable her life felt, because of her son’s depression. “I need some solid ground to stand on.”

As she walked, she heard the “caw” of a crow. She looked up to see a crow sitting precariously on a small branch, that looked as though it would break under the weight of the bird. Yet the crow seemed completely unconcerned.

That’s when she thought of Habakkuk 3:19. The KJV says, and he will make my feet like hinds’ feet, and he will make me to walk upon mine high places. A “hind” is a female deer, which can maneuver with extreme dexterity in treacherous rocky terrains. Of course, Karen was looking at a crow, so she adapted the verse. The crow was “perfectly comfortable in such a risky place.” If the branch did break, the crow could simply fly away.

When she got home from her walk, she looked up the verse. The beginning of verse 19 says, “GOD, the Lord, is my strength.” There is the solid ground we all need to stand on.

The LORD is my strength and my song, and he has become my salvation; this is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him.
Exodus 15:2
Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually!
1 Chronicles 16:11

Father, you are, indeed, my strength and my song. If I only allow it, you make my feet to stand firm on the most treacherous of terrains. If my faith would allow it, I will not be afraid, no matter what the world may throw at me. I simply need to live and walk in the words and steps of my Savior. Help me to seek your strength today. Help me to consider all that Jesus taught and live by his words today.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

