More Blessed To Give

Today is Wednesday, May 10, 2017.

Once again, I find myself in the position of having to buy go juice on the way to work, this morning. So I must move on. Not hurrying . . . just making the best use of the shorter amount of time.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!
Psalm 34:8
Gladden the soul of your servant, for to you, O Lord, do I lift up my soul.
Psalm 86:4
With my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments!
Psalm 119:10
I will give to the LORD the thanks due to his righteousness, and I will sing praise to the name of the LORD, the Most High.
Psalm 7:18

(From Daily Guideposts 2017)

In all things I have shown you that by working hard in this way we must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.'”
Acts 20:35

Rick Hamlin writes about a homeless man named Franklin, who sits on a milk carton on the street, a block down from the subway exit that Rick uses every day. Over time, Rick has learned bits and pieces of information about Franklin. Franklin is estranged from his son, who battles an addiction of some kind; his wife died a few years ago; he likes to go to worship at a nearby church and goes to another one for showers and meals.

Franklin flies a cardboard sign that says “God bless you” and has a cup out for donations. He doesn’t really do anything to solicit, though, because “he’s too absorbed in a small, well-thumbed copy of the New Testament and Psalms.” Rick likes talking to Franklin “because he reads carefully and loves God, which I find hard to imagine considering the life he leads.”

One morning, Franklin asked Rick about the passage that says it is more blessed to give than to receive. “I think it’s in Acts,” Franklin guessed.

Rick wasn’t sure and said he would look it up when he got to his office. Franklin was right. It is Acts 20:35 (see above), and Rick told him that the next time he saw him.

Sometimes Rick gives Franklin things: money, food, things to read. One time Rick gave him a backpack full of food, gloves, a parka and a blanket. The next day, most of the stuff was gone. When Rick asked Franklin what happened to them, Franklin just said, “Gave it to a friend.”

“I was surprised but only for a moment,” Rick said. “After all, wasn’t it Franklin who reminded me where to find Jesus’s words about giving?”

“Lord, let me be the cheerful giver You know I can be.” ~ Rick Hamlin

Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.
2 Corinthians 9:7

Father, why is it that, at times, the most generous people are the ones that have the least? Is it because they don’t cling to what they have? It also seems like the people who have the most are the stingiest. I pray that I will not be like that, my Lord. Let me taste and see that you are good, and that you are all that I need. I have a lot of stuff. I used to cling to that stuff. Not so much, now. I pray, though, that you make me even more generous with what I have. Most of all, I pray that you help me give away the most important thing, the Gospel of Jesus. The Kingdom of heaven is near. Help me to walk in that kingdom.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

