The Least of These

Today is Thursday (pre-Friday), May 11, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.” ~ Will Rogers

Word of the Day

Saudade ~ (in Portuguese folk culture) a deep emotional state of melancholic longing for a person or thing that is absent.

Today is Twilight Zone Day. Here’s a brief clip of one of my favorite episodes, staring William Shatner.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Oh come, let us worship and bow down; let us kneel before the LORD, our Maker! 
For he is our God, and we are the people of his pasture, and the sheep of his hand.

Psalm 95:6-7
So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.
Psalm 90:12
The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
Psalm 18:2
I will look with favor on the faithful in the land, that they may dwell with me; he who walks in the way that is blameless shall minister to me.
Psalm 101:6
Our soul waits for the LORD; he is our help and our shield. 
  For our heart is glad in him, because we trust in his holy name. 
Let your steadfast love, O LORD, be upon us, even as we hope in you. 

Psalm 33:20-22

(From The President’s Devotional)

“‘For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.'”
Matthew 25:35-40

“Martin’s soul grew glad. He crossed himself, put on his spectacles, and began reading the Gospel just where it had opened; and at the top of the page he read: ‘I was an hungered, and ye gave me meat; I was thirsty and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in.’ And at the bottom of the page he read: ‘Inasmuch as ye did it unto one of these my brethren, even these least, ye did it unto me’ (Matt. XXV). And Martin understood that his dream had come true; and that the Saviour had really come to him that day, and he had welcomed him.” (Leo Tolstoy, “Where Love Is, God Is”)

There are people in this world who are looking for a Savior to come to them. Jesus has shown us how to be his “avatars” in this world.

“Nourishment to the hungry. Water to the thirsty. Shelter to the stranger. Covering to the naked. Healing for the sick. Comfort for the prisoner. Our King declares, ‘Whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.'” (Joshua DuBois)

Father, remind me of these truths as I walk through this world. Keep my eyes open for opportunities to serve you by being your representative and spokesperson on earth.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

