Happy Mother’s Day

Today is Sunday, May 14, 2017. Mother’s Day. Happy Mother’s Day to my mother, and also to my wife! I am blessed beyond measure!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS

Sing to the LORD, bless his name; tell of his salvation from day to day. 
Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples! 
  For great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised; he is to be feared above all gods.

Psalm 96:2-4
Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.
Psalm 90:14
By awesome deeds you answer us with righteousness, O God of our salvation, the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas.
Psalm 65:5
You will not fear the terror of the night, nor the arrow that flies by day, 
nor the pestilence that stalks in darkness, nor the destruction that wastes at noonday.

Psalm 91:5-6
“Almighty and merciful God, in your goodness keep me, I pray, from all things that may hurt me, that I, being ready both in mind and body, may accomplish with a free heart those things which belong to your purpose; through Jesus Christ my Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.”
The Diving Hours

As we celebrate Mother’s Day today, I know that it’s not the same for everyone. Not everyone has good memories of their mothers. Not everyone who wants to be a mother has been allowed to do so. No words will help either one of those situations.

But for those who have good memories/experiences with their mothers, I call upon you to celebrate that today. At the risk of sounding corny, like the people on The Voice, sometimes, if it weren’t for my mother, I wouldn’t be here, today. I know. I always make fun of people who say that. But I also know what they mean. My mother (and my father) taught me truth, honesty, integrity, and the love of the Lord, from an early age. I don’t remember it, but I’m 100% sure that I was at church the first time they were able to bring me. I was on the nursery roll. I’m what they call a “lifer.”

But there’s more to it than that. My mother taught me to love the Bible. She also taught me to love music and hymns, which evolved into a love for the most wonderful classical music, and even contemporary Christian/worship music.

And after my father passed away, my mother displayed strength that we never knew was there. We all know how much it hurt. But her faith in God, that faith that she began passing on to me, even before I was born, has carried her.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mama. I love you! May the Lord reward you for your faithfulness.

Dear Father, I am so thankful for my mother and my wife, two incredible women that you have placed in my life. Both of them have taught me love, integrity, and faithfulness. Both of them have loved me without reservation, the closest that a human could come to displaying “agape” love. May you bring blessing to both of them on this day and every day.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

