“Your Face, LORD, Do I Seek.”

Today is Saturday, May 20, 2017. The family reunion day is here!

Quote of the Day

“You see, wire telegraph is a kind of a very, very long cat. You pull his tail in New York and his head is meowing in Los Angeles. Do you understand this? And radio operates exactly the same way: you send signals here, they receive them there. The only difference is that there is no cat.” ~ Albert Einstein, when asked to describe radio

There is actually no concrete evidence that Einstein ever said that, but it’s still fun. The statement is attributed to several others, as well, as cited by this article at Quote Investigator.

Word of the Day

Moggy ~ British informal. A cat.

Today is World Fiddle Day. In the article about this, it appears that they use “fiddle” and “violin” interchangeably. I, however, do not. While they may be the same instrument, technically, I consider it a “violin” when it plays in an orchestra or plays more classically oriented music. I consider it a “fiddle” when it plays bluegrass or country music.

Violin

Fiddle

We’re getting ready to head out to east Texas, in a little while, so I’d best get a move-on. There will not be a blog entry tomorrow. I’ll be back Monday morning.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV, unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually!
Psalm 105:4
Hear, O LORD, when I cry aloud; be gracious to me and answer me! 
You have said, “Seek my face.” My heart says to you, “Your face, LORD, do I seek.” 
Hide not your face from me. Turn not your servant away in anger, O you who have been my help. Cast me not off; forsake me not, O God of my salvation!

Psalm 27:7-9
But you, you are to be feared! Who can stand before you when once your anger is roused?
Psalm 76:7
I sought the LORD, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.
Psalm 34:4
You will only look with your eyes and see the recompense of the wicked. 
Because you have made the LORD your dwelling place— the Most High, who is my refuge— 
no evil shall be allowed to befall you, no plague come near your tent. 
For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways. 
On their hands they will bear you up, lest you strike your foot against a stone. 
You will tread on the lion and the adder; the young lion and the serpent you will trample underfoot.

Psalm 91:8-13

Father, I pray to you, this morning, that I might seek you and your strength; that I would seek your presence continually. All too often, I seek other things, things that don’t matter, things that might satisfy, but only for a moment. Your presence will satisfy for all eternity. May your Spirit draw me toward your presence in my life, always. Motivate me to seek your face, O Lord!
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

