Charged With Hope

Today is Tuesday, May 23, 2017. Day 21,621. The countdown still says eleven days until our Oregon vacation. That’s because I did my blog so late in the morning, yesterday. So, yes. Eleven.

Quote of the Day

“There are painters who transform the sun to a yellow spot, but there are others who with the help of their art and their intelligence, transform a yellow spot into the sun.” ~ Pablo Picasso

Word of the Day

Nudnik ~ a person who is a bore or nuisance.

Today is Title Track Day, referring to those great albums that were defined by a track with the same name as the album. Which ones are your favorites? Tarkus, by Emerson, Lake & Palmer, comes to mind. In the realm of worship music, I immediately think of Shout To the Lord, the album that launched Hillsongs into notoriety.

We had nice day, yesterday. After C took care of some business in the early afternoon, we watched some TV while eating lunch. After that, the three of us headed up to the local bowling alley, got a ball drilled for me and for S, then bowled a couple of games. It was great fun. C won the first game, while I struggled to get some kind of decent form and keep my ball on the right side of the head pin. Then she let me win the second game. S did better with her very own ball, drilled just for her, and improved in the second game. It was great fun.

I did not go to band practice last night, so I won’t be back there until June 10. Next Monday is Memorial Day, and the Monday after that, we plan to be in Oregon.

The Texas Rangers will be in Boston for the next three days, causing division in our household. Hahaha! Not too much, though. I’ll just cheer for whoever does something good! It will be Cashner vs. Porcello on the mound.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are ESV unless otherwise indicated

(From The Divine Hours)

O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.
Psalm 51:15
Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.
Psalm 119:18
I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart, and I will glorify your name forever.
Psalm 86:12
For who is God, but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God?
Psalm 18:31
Righteous are you, O LORD, and right are your rules. 
You have appointed your testimonies in righteousness and in all faithfulness. 
My zeal consumes me, because my foes forget your words. 
Your promise is well tried, and your servant loves it. 
I am small and despised, yet I do not forget your precepts. 
Your righteousness is righteous forever, and your law is true. 
Trouble and anguish have found me out, but your commandments are my delight. 
Your testimonies are righteous forever; give me understanding that I may live.

Psalm 119:137-144
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.

Agnus Dei

(From Living the Message)

“The way we conceive the future sculpts the present, gives contour and tone to nearly every action and thought through the day,” writes Eugene H. Peterson, in today’s reading, called, simply, “The Future.”

The way some people lives indicates that they have no thought, whatsoever, of the future. “If our sense of future is weak, we live listlessly.” There is a lot of mental illness surrounding the lack of hope for any future. Sometimes, this results in the tragedy of suicide. The entire concept of worry revolves around a lack of confidence in what the future will bring.

As believers in Jesus, our future is “characterized [or at least should be] by a strong and focused sense of future, with belief in the Second Coming of Jesus as the most distinctive detail.” It is the focal point of our future.

“The practical effect of this belief is to charge each moment of the present with hope. For if the future is dominated by the coming again of Jesus, there is little room left on the screen for projecting our anxieties and fantasies.” We have freedom to be more spontaneous in our responses to both God and people. It frees us to celebrate life.

He who testifies to all these things says it again: “I’m on my way! I’ll be there soon!”
Yes! Come, Master Jesus!

Revelation 22:20 (The Message)

Father, remind me through this day of the hope and assurance that we have as believers; the hope that Jesus Christ will one day return to take us home to the place he has prepared for us.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

