Like An Anchor

Today is Tuesday, May 30, 2017. Day 21,628. FOUR days until our Oregon vacation!

“Don’t pray when it rains if you don’t pray when the sun shines.” ~ Satchel Paige
BrainyQuote

Keysmash ~ a random string of letters and symbols typed out on a keyboard or touchscreen, used to signal intense emotion in written communication. “A close relative of ‘I can’t even.'”

Mint Julep Day has rolled around for another year, and I still haven’t had one. Someday. Someday.

We got everything accomplished that was planned, yesterday. All two or three things. I got the car, bought the groceries, and C cleaned the house, trying to get it all nice and neat for the person who will be house-sitting next week while we are in Oregon.

Meanwhile, both the Rangers and Red Sox lost.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.
Psalm 51:15
Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.
Psalm 119:18
I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart, and I will glorify your name forever.
Psalm 86:12
For who is God, but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God?
Psalm 18:31
Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing but inwardly are ravenous wolves. You will recognize them by their fruits. Are grapes gathered from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? So, every healthy tree bears good fruit, but the diseased tree bears bad fruit. A healthy tree cannot bear bad fruit, nor can a diseased tree bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. Thus you will recognize them by their fruits.
Matthew 7:15-20
Righteous are you, O LORD, and right are your rules. 
You have appointed your testimonies in righteousness and in all faithfulness. 
My zeal consumes me, because my foes forget your words. 
Your promise is well tried, and your servant loves it. 
I am small and despised, yet I do not forget your precepts. 
Your righteousness is righteous forever, and your law is true. 
Trouble and anguish have found me out, but your commandments are my delight. 
Your testimonies are righteous forever; give me understanding that I may live. 

Psalm 119:137-144
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.

Agnus Dei

(From The President’s Devotional)

Then Peter came up and said to him, “Lord, how often will my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? As many as seven times?” 
Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you seven times, but seventy-seven times.”

Matthew 18:21-22

It is worth noting that in other translations, Jesus is said to have said, “Seventy times seven.” Either way, the point is clear.

Joshua DuBois writes of a story about Clara Barton, the founder of the Red Cross. It was said that she never held a grudge. One time, she met someone who had wronged her many years past. A friend asked her, “Clara, don’t you remember?” Clara replied, “No, I distinctly remember forgetting that.”

As followers of Jesus, we must “be intentional about forgiveness.” We cannot afford to allow a grudge to fester. It will only hurt us. “It will weigh down our souls like an anchor, preventing movement from darker waters into light.”

“Dear God, who do I need to forgive today? What old wrongs must I forget? Help me bring them into the light and throw them into the sea of forgetfulness, as you have done for me. Amen.” (Joshua DuBois)

Indeed, Father, help me to forgive any alleged wrongs against myself or someone I love. I know that it does no good to harbor grudges, yet my flesh always fights to do so. Give me your love toward all, and forgiveness toward all, no matter how serious the offense or how often it occurs. Help me to forgive as you have forgiven.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

