If the Lord Says So, Too

Today is June 1, 2017. Day 21,630. TWO DAYS until our Oregon vacation!!

“There is nothing as stupid as an educated man if you get him off the thing he was educated in.” ~ Will Rogers
The Quotations Page

Valedictory ~ an address or statement of farewell or leave-taking. I find this interesting because I always thought it had something to do with being at the top of your graduating class. So, on a whim, I decided to look up “salutatory.” Would you believe it means “an address or statement of welcome or greeting.” Huh. The things you learn.

Today is Go Barefoot Day. Unfortunately, they will not allow me to do that at work. It’s also Say Something Nice Day. They will allow me to do that. If you really want to be “special” today, go barefoot and say nice things.

We had a grand time at bowling, last night. There are somewhere around twelve teams in this summer league, and we got paired up with another couple who appear to be close to our age. They were very nice, and somewhat quiet, which we like. We bowled against a team of guys that were all quite good. In fact, one of them is a “scratch” bowler, meaning that his average is higher than the average from which the handicap is derived. They were also quite friendly. We felt very much at home in this group. We bowled pretty well, too. C bowled 141, 145, 159, for a total of 445. She set an average of 148. I bowled 148, 160, and 168, for a total of 476, setting an average of 158. I was actually surprised that I did that well. It’s also cool that we both improved with each game.

The really great thing is that I can walk this morning. 😀

The Rangers (or should I say Sam Dyson) lost in the tenth inning last night, to the Rays, 7-5. The Red Sox held off the Other Sox, beating them 4-1. The Yankees lost, so the Sox are now only two games out of first place!

I got the results from my bloodwork yesterday (did I mention that I left work early Tuesday to get a physical?). Everything was good except for the blood sugar readings. My A1C is over 8, which is bad, and my average glucose reading over the last three months is way too high, so they are increasing my medications for that. Cholesterol and everything else was fine. That was suprising.

Today is the one year anniversary of my mother-in-law’s passing.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

Sing to the LORD, bless his name; tell of his salvation from day to day. 
Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples! 
For great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised; he is to be feared above all gods.

Psalm 96:2-4
Answer me, O LORD, for your steadfast love is good; according to your abundant mercy, turn to me.
Psalm 69:16
The LORD lives, and blessed be my rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation
Psalm 18:46
who looks on the earth and it trembles, who touches the mountains and they smoke!
Psalm 104:32
When the day of Pentecost arrived, they were all together in one place. 
And suddenly there came from heaven a sound like a mighty rushing wind, and it filled the entire house where they were sitting. 
And divided tongues as of fire appeared to them and rested on each one of them.

Acts 2:1-3

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. 
In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

Proverbs 3:5-6
The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps.
Proverbs 16:9

The verses were quoted in today’s Daily Guideposts reading, but I’m not going to talk about the reading. I’m just going to leave the verses there, and hopefully remember them to meditate on them, during the day.

Proverbs 3:5-6 have been “hidden in my heart” for decades. They are great verses (not to insinuate that other verses are not great), and worthy of our meditation. Very simple. Trust in God. Don’t trust in your own understanding of things, because, unlike God, your understanding is not perfect. Acknowledge God in everything you do. The result will be a straight walk with him.

Proverbs 16:9 cautions us that, while it is okay to make plans, it is the Lord who finalizes things.

Father, help me to remember to think about these verse today. Help me to remember the truths represented therein. Help me to trust you and not me. Help me to acknowledge you in all my ways, so that you can make my path straight. And then help me to remember that all my plans depend on the simple phrase, “If the Lord says so, too.”
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “If the Lord Says So, Too

    1. Thank you, sir. I’ll do my best. Right after this vacation! 😀 Seriously, though, I’m planning some good walks on the beach in Oregon.

Leave a Reply

