Healthy Rhythm

Today is Monday, June 5, 2017. Day 21,634.

“Science may never come up with a better office communication system than the coffee break.” ~ Earl Wilson
BrainyQuote

Adumbrate ~ to foreshadow vaguely; to suggest, disclose, or outline partially; more obscurely, overshadow.

Today is Sausage Roll Day. That sounds delicious. Could be because I haven’t had breakfast, yet, and I’m hungry?

Yesterday was magnificent! C and I drove around for a while after breakfast, and saw some of the most beautiful sites. I’ll do a separate blog entry about that, later. I took some photos with an actual camera, not just phone pictures. But we saw Cannon Beach, home of the famous Haystack Rock, featured in The Goonies. Then we went on up to Ecola State Park, which had a marvelous, twisting drive up to the actual park, and then glorious views back toward Cannon Beach, and out to the Tillamook Light House, also known as “Terrible Tilly.”

Today, we’re mostly going to hang at the house. After I finish this, we’ll go get some breakfast, and then find what we believe to be an actual grocery store, because we need a few more things for the house. Other than that, maybe just some walks on the beach and relaxing to read with the ocean view.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!
Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!

Psalm 95:1-2
O LORD God of hosts, hear my prayer: give ear, O God of Jacob. Selah.
Psalm 84:8
The LORD lives, and blessed be my rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation—
For this I will praise you, O LORD, among the nations, and sing to your name.

Psalm 18:46, 49
My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast! I will sing and make melody!
Psalm 57:7
Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.
If you had known me, you would have known my Father also. From now on you do know him and have seen him.”

Open to me the gates of righteousness, that I may enter through them and give thanks to the LORD.
This is the gate of the LORD; the righteous shall enter through it.
I thank you that you have answered me and have become my salvation.
The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone.
This is the LORD’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes.
This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Psalm 118:19-24

(From Living the Message)

Eugene H. Peterson writes of rhythm in today’s reading. Not the kind of rhythm that helps create music, but the kind of rhythm that helps us maintain life. There is a healthy rhythm to life, but it’s difficult to maintain. Although I’m not fond of 3DM and their “Life Shapes,” I do like the semi-circle of rhythm that they use.

All the way back to the Old Testament account of creation, the day began with evening. And there was evening and there was morning, the first day. (Genesis 1:5) In the time of Jesus, the day was said to begin at approximately 6:00 PM. The Sabbath always began at around that time on the actual day before. So, for example, if we considered Saturday the Sabbath, it would begin at 6:00 PM Friday evening.

The result of this philosophy is that we work out of our rest. But modern culture has reversed this. Now, we seem to think that we rest from our work. But if you consider the Psalms, Psalm 4 comes before Psalm 5. “Duh,” you might say. Bear with me. Psalm 4 is an “evening Psalm,” climaxing with these words: In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety. (v. 8). Psalm 5 is a “morning Psalm,” including these words: O LORD, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch. (v. 3) While many would consider this a coincidence, scholars of the Psalms know differently. The Psalms are not in random order. There is a logic to their order.

So a healthy rhythm would consider that we work from our rest. “Daily we give up consciousness, submitting ourselves to that which is deeper than consciousness in order to grow and be healed, be created and saved.” Such beautiful words from Eugene. It is a biological necessity to sleep, and, in some ways, can even be an act of faith; faith that we will, in fact, wake up the next morning. And, even if we do not, faith that the Lord will take us safely home. “People who live by faith have always welcomed the evening prayer, disengaging themselves from the discordant, arhythmic confusion of tongues, and sinking into the quite rhythms of God’s creating and covenanting words.”

At day’s end I’m ready for sound sleep, For you, GOD, have put my life back together.
Psalm 4:8 (The Message)

Father, I long for this proper, healthy rhythm to be my way of thinking. I have tried to look at life in this way, but keep forgetting. There needs to be a deliberateness to this idea of resting and then working; of beginning the “day” by going to sleep and healing, allowing you to do your work in me while I, by faith, submit to this giving up of consciousness, giving up of all control. Help me to maintain this discipline in my life.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Rhythm

Leave a Reply

