Sustainer of My Life

Today is Thursday, June 29, 2017. Day 21,658. Five days until our July 4 holiday!

“Life is a long lesson in humility.” ~ James M. Barrie
The Quotations Page

The word of the day is ophidian, a noun, meaning, “a snake.” That’s it. “A snake.” There are fewer letters in “a snake.”

Today is Almond Buttercrunch Day. If that’s the same thing (or even close) as toffee, I’m all in. I discovered last year that I love toffee.

I have to leave early this morning, because we’re having a pot luck at work for someone who is retiring tomorrow. I forgot about it Sunday, when I went to the store, and, since last night was bowling night, I just decided that I would stop at a store on the way to work and pick something up. I drive right be a Tom Thumb on the way to work, and it opens at 6:00, so that will work just fine.

Bowling was a mixed bag, last night. I bowled a 200 in the first game, the first 200 game in a long time. But I lost my groove the rest of the night, bowling a 138 and 149 for the other two games. We did win one game of the three, and only lost the third game by three pins, which I feel somewhat responsible for, because I missed my spare in the tenth frame. But we were bowling the second place team, and their last two bowlers struck out in the tenth frame. That’s a good thing in bowling. Bad thing in baseball. But at least we won a game. Oddly, it was not the game in which I bowled 200.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

But we will bless the LORD from this time forth and forevermore. Praise the LORD!
Psalm 115:18
Turn to me and be gracious to me; give your strength to your servant, and save the son of your maidservant.
Psalm 86:16
You are a hiding place for me; you preserve me from trouble; you surround me with shouts of deliverance. Selah.
Psalm 32:7
Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the upholder of my life. 
Psalm 54:4
But the righteous shall be glad; they shall exult before God; they shall be jubilant with joy! 
Sing to God, sing praises to his name; lift up a song to him who rides through the deserts; his name is the LORD; exult before him! 
Father of the fatherless and protector of widows is God in his holy habitation.

Psalm 68:3-5

Well, I looked up while reading my Guideposts reading, and the PC was frozen! Moved the mouse and nothing happened. Pressed “alt/tab” and nothing happened. So I had to reboot, and now it’s time to stop. But before I do, I want to focus for a few seconds on the verse above that caught my attention, anyway.

Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the upholder of my life. 
Psalm 54:4

The version that Divine Hours uses said “the Lord is the sustainer of my life.” I firmly believe this, and have for many years. Whatever I do, wherever I am, the Lord upholds and sustains my life. I could not and would not live, if it were not for God and his help in my life. Plain and simple. And this is true for everyone on the planet, whether they acknowledge it or not. If God were to suddenly leave and abandon us, all life would cease to exist. He holds everything together and sustains us all.

Father, I thank you for your presence in my life and in this world. I thank you that you uphold our lives and help us. Please don’t ever stop. Make me more aware of this truth throughout all my days.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “Sustainer of My Life

    1. I know, right? I mean, why had I never tried that stuff before?? And thank you for your kind words, and, as always, for the Twitter shares.

      The computer seems fine, this morning. Those things just happen sometimes. Always at the most inconvenient times, though, right?

Leave a Reply

