Render to Caesar

Today is Thursday, July 6, 2017. Day 21,665.

“You cannot shake hands with a clenched fist.” ~ attributed to Indira Gandhi
The Quotations Page

The word of the day is instantiate, a verb, which means, “to provide an instance of or concrete evidence in support of (a theory, concept, claim, or the like).”

Today is International Kissing Day. I wonder who first thought of kissing? It’s actually kind of an odd thing, if you think about it.

Bowling was fun last night. Getting there wasn’t. As I was on my way home, a sudden thunderstorm developed over Tarrant County. The closer I got to home, the harder it was raining. I looked at my weather app, and it had an alert that said that this storm was “nearly stationary.” It also mentioned torrential rain. I was already aware of that part. Several of the streets that I drove on to get home were flooded up to the curbs, and I was splashing water up as high as the top of my car, perhaps higher. I got home, got S’s food in to her, got changed into my bowling shirt and grabbed C’s bowling shirt.

At this point it was just barely 6:00 PM. I had plenty of time to get to the bowling alley. Or so I thought. I drove through the back part of our neighborhood to get to the main road just north of us, as this is the best way to get there. As I got closer to the intersection of that road and Denton Hwy (the main north/south hwy in our area), I saw traffic backed up more than a block, and it did not appear to be moving. I saw people making u-turns. So I opened my traffic app and saw several notes that the lights were blinking red. But there was one note that also said that the railroad arms were stuck down. Aha.

So, I, too, made a u-turn and drove north to the next major road. The intersection with Denton Hwy was also blinking red, but the railroad crossing was clear, so I was able to get through. I finally made it to the bowling alley parking lot at 6:29.

The good news is that, as previously mentioned, it was just our team tonight. The other team had pre-bowled because too many of them were going to be absent last night. I didn’t get to throw any practice balls, but, as it turns out, I really didn’t need them. I started with a 165 (three pins over my average), rolled a 214 for my second game, and a 161 for the final game. As is our custom, the only game we won was the second game. But at least we won one. And C bowled her average or higher in each game, as well, bowling 163, 158, and 173, for a 494 series. My series was 540. Good times. Plus we got done and home before 8:30, which enabled us to get to bed early.

I didn’t hear any firecrackers last night.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

The LORD reigns; let the peoples tremble! He sits enthroned upon the cherubim; let the earth quake!
Psalm 99:1
Let the assembly of the peoples be gathered about you; over it return on high. 
Psa 7:8  The LORD judges the peoples

Psalm 7:7-8a
Save us, O LORD our God, and gather us from among the nations, that we may give thanks to your holy name and glory in your praise.
Psalm 106:47
Blessed is the nation whose God is the LORD, the people whom he has chosen as his heritage!
Psalm 33:12
So they watched him and sent spies, who pretended to be sincere, that they might catch him in something he said, so as to deliver him up to the authority and jurisdiction of the governor. 
So they asked him, “Teacher, we know that you speak and teach rightly, and show no partiality, but truly teach the way of God. 
Is it lawful for us to give tribute to Caesar, or not?” 
But he perceived their craftiness, and said to them, 
“Show me a denarius. Whose likeness and inscription does it have?” They said, “Caesar’s.” 
He said to them, “Then render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.” 
And they were not able in the presence of the people to catch him in what he said, but marveling at his answer they became silent.

Luke 20:20-26

Father, as we live in this world, in whatever country we have been placed, may we heed the words of Jesus in this attempt by the Pharisees to trick him. May we “render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s,” but let us not render what is not Caesar’s to Caesar, which is worship and praise. Let us not trust in the frailty of human government to set us free or lift us up. Let us trust only in you, for only you are worthy of worship, praise, and trust. It is folly to trust in a man for deliverance. Let us trust only in you.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The king is not saved by his great army; a warrior is not delivered by his great strength. 
The war horse is a false hope for salvation, and by its great might it cannot rescue. 
Behold, the eye of the LORD is on those who fear him, on those who hope in his steadfast love, 
that he may deliver their soul from death and keep them alive in famine. 
Our soul waits for the LORD; he is our help and our shield. 
For our heart is glad in him, because we trust in his holy name. 
Let your steadfast love, O LORD, be upon us, even as we hope in you.

Psalm 33:16-22

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “Render to Caesar

Leave a Reply

