The Way of Grace

“‘By his grace’ means that God does not look around to see who will best suit his purposes and then single them out because he is pretty sure that they will do a good job.”

Today is Saturday, July 8, 2017. Day 21,667.

“Most human beings have an almost infinite capacity for taking things for granted.” ~ Aldous Huxley
The Quotations Page

The word of the day is turpitude, a noun, meaning, “inherent baseness: depravity.” Bonus points if you can tell me the 1981 movie in which this word is used.

Today is Chocolate with Almonds Day. Do I even need to say anything else about that? I think not.

I saw a Nurse/Practitioner at the doctor’s office, yesterday, which I much prefer to the popular “Physician’s Assistant.” She prescribed an antibiotic (Augmentin), along with some topical cream (Bactoban) to put on the affected areas. The antibiotic is the typical twice daily for ten days. The cream is thrice daily for fourteen days. She also told me to keep an eye on the fluid seepage, and that if turned yellow and pus-like, to come back right away. She said that the extreme itching that I experienced the night before may have been a sign that infection was trying to set in. At any rate, it’s a good thing I went ahead and went to the doctor yesterday morning.

I picked up some lunch for S and me, after which I had to go back out and get the meds. I spent a couple hours playing games, then took a nap for a couple of hours. When C got home, we were a little afraid that the wounds might have triggered cellulitis, as my leg had a fairly dark red spot, but this morning, that looks better, as does the bite wound. The seepage appears to have completely stopped. I also slept much better last night! However, I was running a low-grade fever (99.4) before going to bed, and feeling a little weird. I feel better this morning, though not exactly right, and there doesn’t appear to be any fever.

We’re supposed to go have lunch at the home of one of C’s work associates, this afternoon. I’m still not sure if I’ll make it.

The Rangers beat the Angels, 10-0, last night, with Cole Hamels getting his fourth win, and Adrian Beltre hammering a “wedding proposal” home run.
http://m.mlb.com/video/v1586330683/must-c-clips-beltres-special-homer-from-one-knee/?game_pk=491397
The Red Sox beat the Rays, 8-3, behind Drew Pomeranz, with Dustin Pedroia hitting a two-run homer.
http://m.mlb.com/video/v1584775783/bostb-pedroia-belts-a-tworun-homer-to-left-field/?game_pk=491391

The Red Sox hold a 4.5 game lead over the Yankees in the AL East, and the Rangers are in third place in the AL West, 16.5 games behind the Astros, who continue to be the best team in MLB. Actually, I’m wrong. The Rangers are in a virtual tie for second, .001 percentage point behind the Angels.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

I want to share this brief quote from C.S. Lewis, on grief:

What sort of a lover am I to think so much about my affliction and so much less about hers? Even the insane call, ‘Come back,’ is all for my own sake. I never even raised the question whether such a return, if it were possible, would be good for her. I want her back as an ingredient in the restoration of my past. Could I have wished her anything worse? Having got once through death, to come back and then, at some later date, have all her dying to do over again? They call Stephen the first martyr. Hadn’t Lazarus the rawer deal?

From A Grief Observed

(From The Divine Hours)

Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name; worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness. 
The voice of the LORD is over the waters; the God of glory thunders, the LORD, over many waters. 
The voice of the LORD is powerful; the voice of the LORD is full of majesty. 
The voice of the LORD breaks the cedars; the LORD breaks the cedars of Lebanon. 
He makes Lebanon to skip like a calf, and Sirion like a young wild ox. 
The voice of the LORD flashes forth flames of fire. 
The voice of the LORD shakes the wilderness; the LORD shakes the wilderness of Kadesh. 
The voice of the LORD makes the deer give birth and strips the forests bare, and in his temple all cry, “Glory!” 
The LORD sits enthroned over the flood; the LORD sits enthroned as king forever. 
May the LORD give strength to his people! May the LORD bless his people with peace!

Psalm 29:2-11
O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water. 
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory. 
Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you. 
So I will bless you as long as I live; in your name I will lift up my hands.

Psalm 63:1-4
O God, we have heard with our ears, our fathers have told us, what deeds you performed in their days, in the days of old: 
you with your own hand drove out the nations, but them you planted; you afflicted the peoples, but them you set free; 
for not by their own sword did they win the land, nor did their own arm save them, but your right hand and your arm, and the light of your face, for you delighted in them. 

Psalm 44:1-3
Arise, O God, judge the earth; for you shall inherit all the nations! 
Psalm 82:8
Being asked by the Pharisees when the kingdom of God would come, he answered them, “The kingdom of God is not coming in ways that can be observed, 
nor will they say, ‘Look, here it is!’ or ‘There!’ for behold, the kingdom of God is in the midst of you.”

Luke 17:20-21
As your name, O God, so your praise reaches to the ends of the earth. Your right hand is filled with righteousness. 
Let Mount Zion be glad! Let the daughters of Judah rejoice because of your judgments! 
Walk about Zion, go around her, number her towers, 
consider well her ramparts, go through her citadels, that you may tell the next generation 
that this is God, our God forever and ever. He will guide us forever.

Psalm 48:10-14

(From Living the Message)

“Life is not an aimless groping. We are called. ‘By his grace’ means that God does not look around to see who will best suit his purposes and then single them out because he is pretty sure that they will do a good job. It means that God has a capacity so large in love and purpose that he calls us in order to do something for us–to give us something. Grace.” (Eugene H. Peterson)

Is it not clear to you that to go back to that old rule-keeping, peer-pleasing religion would be an abandonment of everything personal and free in my relationship with God? I refuse to do that, to repudiate God’s grace.
Galatians 2:21 (The Message)

Father, too much of my life has been as if it were, indeed, “aimless groping.” Help me to fulfill the calling you have placed on my life. You have given me a vision of what my life needs to look like, a vision that is based on the way, the truth, and the life, of Jesus. I have the means to work that vision into reality. But the intention is weak. May my intention be stronger. Thank you for grace, which is you accomplishing things in my life that I could not accomplish on my own.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

