Overtaken

Today is Sunday, July 16, 2017. Day 21,675.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation
Psalm 95:1
Hear the voice of my pleas for mercy, when I cry to you for help, when I lift up my hands toward your most holy sanctuary.
Psalm 28:2
But the LORD is in his holy temple; let all the earth keep silence before him.
Habakkuk 2:20
Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD! We bless you from the house of the LORD.
Psalm 118:26
And Jesus cried out and said, “Whoever believes in me, believes not in me but in him who sent me. 
And whoever sees me sees him who sent me. 
I have come into the world as light, so that whoever believes in me may not remain in darkness. 
If anyone hears my words and does not keep them, I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world but to save the world. 
The one who rejects me and does not receive my words has a judge; the word that I have spoken will judge him on the last day. 
For I have not spoken on my own authority, but the Father who sent me has himself given me a commandment—what to say and what to speak. 
And I know that his commandment is eternal life. What I say, therefore, I say as the Father has told me.”

John 12:44-50
How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! 
Through your precepts I get understanding; therefore I hate every false way.

Psalm 119:103-104
Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be your Name.
May your kingdom come, and your will be done, on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil;
for yours are the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever.
Amen.

O Lord, mercifully receive the prayers of your servant who calls upon you,
and grant that I may know and understand what things I ought to do,
and that I also may have the grace and power faithfully to accomplish them;
through Jesus Christ our Lord,
who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

(From The President’s Devotional)

When Blessings Overtake

And if you faithfully obey the voice of the LORD your God, being careful to do all his commandments that I command you today, the LORD your God will set you high above all the nations of the earth. 
And all these blessings shall come upon you and overtake you, if you obey the voice of the LORD your God.

Deuteronomy 28:1-2

I believe that we sometimes gloss over passages like this, not taking them at face value. Sure, these were words that were spoken directly to the children of Israel, during their wanderings in the wilderness. But what if they are true for me, too? Look at the words in verse two. The blessings of God will overtake you! “Out of nowhere. Overwhelming. Unexpected. In undeserved measure.”

What is our part in this? Obedience. Walking as closely to God as we can. Loving God and loving our neighbors. “Let’s reduce our fleshly desires and pray that the Spirit of God will increase within us.”

When we do these things, the blessings of God will “come upon” us, and “overtake” us!

Father, these words almost make me tremble. As I consider the thought that your words are ultimate truth, I sense a desire in my heart to be overtaken by your blessings. I pray for your Spirit to help me practice the disciplines that I need to practice, in order to walk more closely to you, walking in your Kingdom, in the “easy yoke” of Christ, that I might be overtaken. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth!
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Make me to know your ways, O LORD; teach me your paths. 
Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.

Psalm 25:4-5

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

