God’s Call and My Ears

Today is Monday, July 17, 2017. Day 21,676.

“We have, I fear, confused power with greatness.” ~ Stewart Udall
BrainyQuote

The word of the day is steadfast, an adjective which means, “firmly fixed in place : immovable.” Also, “not subject to change,” or, “firm in belief, determination, or adherence : loyal.” Your steadfast love, O LORD, extends to the heavens, your faithfulness to the clouds. (Psalm 36:5)

Today is Peach Ice Cream Day. As if I could find any anywhere!! Blue Bell has not resumed making their Peaches and Homemade Vanilla flavor, and who knows if they will. Well, I’ve got frozen peaches, and I’ve got vanilla ice cream. Perhaps I will create my own, this evening.

Speaking of this evening, I don’t have band practice again, as we are off until the first Monday in August. So we have three more weeks off.

Yesterday was an okay day. The worship gathering went pretty well, I think, and C spent most of the afternoon stripping wallpaper in the kitchen. Oh, I forgot to mention that she started that project Saturday. I could not dissuade her. She’s been wanting that wallpaper gone for a while, now. And, now, it’s gone. She plans to paint the walls, instead.

Back to work today.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise. 
For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it; you will not be pleased with a burnt offering. 
The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.

Psalm 51:15-17
With my whole heart I cry; answer me, O LORD! I will keep your statutes.
Psalm 119:145
Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer. 
Psalm 19:14
Blessed are you, O LORD; teach me your statutes!
Psalm 119:12
Pay attention to yourselves! If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him, 
and if he sins against you seven times in the day, and turns to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ you must forgive him.

Luke 17:3-4
Your steadfast love, O LORD, extends to the heavens, your faithfulness to the clouds. 
Your righteousness is like the mountains of God; your judgments are like the great deep; man and beast you save, O LORD. 
How precious is your steadfast love, O God! The children of mankind take refuge in the shadow of your wings. 
They feast on the abundance of your house, and you give them drink from the river of your delights. 
For with you is the fountain of life; in your light do we see light. 
Oh, continue your steadfast love to those who know you, and your righteousness to the upright of heart!

Psalm 36:5-10

(From Practice Resurrection)

We last talked about God’s call in our lives. This is what God does. Our response to this call is walking. “Walk is what we do. We follow God’s call. We respond with our lives.” We don’t want to begin by seeking out ideas and information about God. “God is not an idea. We hear and respond. We obey.” But this obedience is not some kind of automated response, like a dog when we say “sit.” “It is the act of following a personally addressed command or invitation.” God calls us by name.

This calling is also not some kind of impersonal cause that just makes something happen, mechanically. It is personal, and it beckons us into a new kind of life “a resurrection life.”

“When the calling and walking are in equilibrium, we are worthy.” Remember the picture of the balancing scales? This picture is not of something rigid that, once gotten into balance, will automatically stay there. When measuring items in physics class, the slightest inconsistency could jar the scales out of balance. There is a “delicate, sensitive connection between call and walk, a relation that is never one-sided but always reciprocal.”

As we mature, and our language matures, these “God-initiated conversations . . . become increasingly personal.” Many times in our lives, we start out by seeking information about God, but soon find ourselves in an intimacy with God. Information is not bad, mind you. But it should not be the end goal. There is an “organic intimacy” between God’s voice and our ears. If that is reduced to simple information, it will go dead.

Father, open my ears, that I may hear your constant calling in my life. Help me to mature in my language and this “organic intimacy” between your call and my ears. I want to hear you. I want to walk with you, not just know about you. Deepen that desire in my life.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

