Aim High

Today is Wednesday, July 26, 2017. Day 21,685. Twenty-four days until S’s birthday!

“I always wanted to be somebody, but I should have been more specific.” ~ Jane Wagner, (and Lily Tomlin)
The Quotations Page

The word of the day is autarky, a noun meaning, “the condition of self-sufficiency, especially economic, as applied to a nation.” Also, “a national policy of economic independence.”

Today is Aunt and Uncle Day. I still have an aunt and uncle, so happy Aunt and Uncle Day to them!!

Well, it’s Wednesday, hump day, and bowling night. C seems to have come down with a bit of a chest cold, though, and is staying home from work today. Not much else going on at all. So far, I feel fine.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise. 
For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it; you will not be pleased with a burnt offering. 
The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.

Psalm 51:15-17
You are my help and my deliverer; O LORD, do not delay! 
Psalm 70:5
Your righteousness, O God, reaches the high heavens. You who have done great things, O God, who is like you?
Psalm 71:19
Blessed are those whose strength is in you, in whose heart are the highways to Zion.
Psalm 84:5
And he sat down and called the twelve. And he said to them, “If anyone would be first, he must be last of all and servant of all.”
Mark 9:35
Open to me the gates of righteousness, that I may enter through them and give thanks to the LORD. 
This is the gate of the LORD; the righteous shall enter through it. 
I thank you that you have answered me and have become my salvation. 
The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone. 
This is the LORD’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes. 
This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Psalm 118:19-24
The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; those who dwelt in a land of deep darkness, on them has light shone.
Isaiah 9:2

(From The President’s Devotional)

Today’s reading is called “Things Above.”

“In the long run men hit only what they aim at. Therefore, though they should fail immediately, they had better aim at something high.” ~ Henry David Thoreau, Walden

Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.
Colossians 3:2

“Let’s set our minds on things above today. Let’s aim as high as we can.

“Aim for Christ’s love. For truly selfless service. For the boldest possible adventures and the deepest possible calm.

“We may not hit the mark exactly, but God willing, we’ll come close. When our minds are set on things above, not on earthly things.

“Dear God, renew my mind today. Make it purer than yesterday, and tomorrow make it purer still. Amen.” (Joshua DuBois)

Father, I echo the prayer of Joshua DuBois, this morning. Help me to aim high today. I pray for my mind to be truly set on you and on “things that are above.” May I seek “selfless service” and may my soul be full of peace that can only come from you.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

