Look

Today is Thursday, July 27, 2017. Day 21,686. 23 days until S’s birthday!

“I have only one superstition. I touch all the bases when I hit a home run.” ~ Babe Ruth
The Quotations Page

The word of the day us bumfuzzle, a verb meaning, “to confuse of fluster.”

Today is Chili Dog Day. Our version of chili dogs is made with crescent rolls. If I had known, Saturday, when I went to the store, that today was Chili Dog Day, I would have bought the stuff to make them. Oh, well.

Last night’s bowling didn’t go so well for me, again. That’s three weeks in a row where I have totally missed my average. It took me until the third game to figure out where to throw the ball, and I still missed by six pins. C did better than me, as did our other two teammates. We wound up winning one of three games.

Tonight we have our “missional gathering” for Night of Worship. So we wouldn’t have been able to have chili dogs, anyway. I’m not sure if we are all bringing our own food or the host is cooking for us.

We also have our monthly night of worship this coming Saturday night, so it’s going to be a busy weekend.

The Red Sox shut out the Mariners in a day game, yesterday, but the Rangers got beat badly last night. 22-10. That’s more of a football score.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name; worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness.
Psalm 29:2
In you, O LORD, do I take refuge; let me never be put to shame; in your righteousness deliver me!
Psalm 31:1
May the LORD give strength to his people! May the LORD bless his people with peace!
Psalm 29:11
The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork. 
Day to day pours out speech, and night to night reveals knowledge. 
There is no speech, nor are there words, whose voice is not heard. 
Their voice goes out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world. In them he has set a tent for the sun, 
which comes out like a bridegroom leaving his chamber, and, like a strong man, runs its course with joy. 
Its rising is from the end of the heavens, and its circuit to the end of them, and there is nothing hidden from its heat.

Psalm 19:1-6
Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.
The Gloria

The heavens truly declare your glory, Lord! May we look to the skies to see your majesty. May we look for your glory in everything around us, from the things of nature to the souls of men. May we especially look for you in the souls of those with whom we come in contact today. You are near; you are able; you are good.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

4 thoughts on “Look

  1. Love the Babe Ruth quote. And I’d not heard of that particular word, bumfuzzle. I love when I discover a new word, it makes me feel like a literary archaeologist. Wait . . . crescent rolls and chili dogs? SOLD!

    “May we especially look for you in the souls of those with whom we come in contact today.”

    I believe the world is a better place when we do this very thing.

    Peace and chili dogs

    1. Yes! You just wrap the hot dog (with cheese, if you prefer) in a crescent roll and bake it for however long the crescent roll package says. Then put chili on top. It’s easy and amazing!

      What would really make the world a better place is if I would remember to do those things I pray about every morning. I’m getting better at it, though.

      Peace back to you, my friend.

      1. Oh my goodness does that sound amazing! I’m in!

        And hey, you’re praying and you’re an active participant when it comes to putting those prayers to good work. That’s where it’s at, at least in my humble opinion.

        🙂

Leave a Reply

