In A Room By Myself

“We are made for personal relationships, and until we engage in them we are not complete.”

Today is Wednesday, August 2, 2017. Day 21,692. Seventeen days until S’s and J’s birthday! (Mustn’t forget our son-in-law!)

“The library is inhabited by spirits that come out of the pages at night.” ― Isabel Allende
Goodreads

The word of the day is obambulate, a verb meaning, “To walk about; to wander here and there.”

Today is Ice Cream Sandwich Day. Especially like those round ones, made with chocolate chip cookies, that have chocolate chips all around the outside of the ice cream.

I don’t know if I have mentioned, or not, but we are getting our floor redone. We are replacing the laminate with vinyl planks, a new trend, it seems. They are, allegedly, completely waterproof, as well as softer and quieter than laminate, which will be great for us, having a dog and cats in the house. We’re going with a color that looks like wood, and is slightly darker than what we already have. Not too dark, though, as C was discouraged from getting darker by comments about pet hair and something called “dust” showing up too easily.

The Red Sox battled back into first place, last night, beating the Indians in a roller coaster of a game. The Sox won on a walk-off home run in the bottom of the ninth (well, duh . . . when else would they have a “walk-off home run?”), after a play in which the game should have ended. There were two outs when Mitch Moreland struck out. But he struck out on a wild pitch, and ran to first (it has always been my opinion that a batter should be able to “steal” first on any wild pitch), making it safely. So the strike out is negated. Next batter hit a three-run home run. They won, 12-10, and the Yankees lost, so the Sox are back in first by a half game.

Tonight is bowling night. We’ll see if I can remember how to bowl tonight. I seem to have forgotten for two consecutive weeks.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation! 
Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!

Psalm 95:1-2
To you I lift up my eyes, O you who are enthroned in the heavens! 
Psalm 123:1
For you, O LORD, are most high over all the earth; you are exalted far above all gods.
Psalm 97:9
For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his steadfast love toward those who fear him;
Psalm 103:11
Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”
John 8:12

(From Living the Message)

Now out of the ground the LORD God had formed every beast of the field and every bird of the heavens and brought them to the man to see what he would call them. And whatever the man called every living creature, that was its name. 
The man gave names to all livestock and to the birds of the heavens and to every beast of the field. But for Adam there was not found a helper fit for him. 
So the LORD God caused a deep sleep to fall upon the man, and while he slept took one of his ribs and closed up its place with flesh. 
And the rib that the LORD God had taken from the man he made into a woman and brought her to the man. 
Then the man said, “This at last is bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man.”

Genesis 2:19-23

In a reading called “A Helper fit for Him,” Eugene H. Peterson says, “God does not provide a bare biological minimum in creation but a glorious personal richness.” Our entire existence is built in relationship. “We are not created to be self-sufficient.” We have to comprehend this, because there are too many of us who believe that we are self-sufficient, which is one of the biggest lies in our society. “We are made for personal relationships, and until we engage in them we are not complete.” I struggle with this a lot. I don’t like being around people very much. My own boss, at work, recognizes this, and made a comment, yesterday, saying, “He wants to be in a room by himself.” He was partly joking, sure. But there is a measure of truth to his statement. Nevertheless, I need to be involved in relationship, in community. This is an area where I truly need to step out of my “comfort zone.”

Peterson prays like this: “I thank you, O God, not only for creating me, but for creating others, for placing me in a world where I can recognize and explore the meaning of your purposes in the gift of another human face. Amen.”

So since we find ourselves fashioned into all these excellently formed and marvelously functioning parts in Christ’s body, let’s just go ahead and be what we were made to be, without enviously or pridefully comparing ourselves with each other, or trying to be something we aren’t.
Romans 12:5-6 (The Message)

Father, thank you for relationships. I thank you that we need each other, and I pray that you help me to be part of relationships, both inside and outside the Church. Help me to treat all people with respect and dignity, as everyone I meet possesses value that cannot be replaced or exchanged. Help me to follow Christ closely, and walk with him today.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus.

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

4 thoughts on “In A Room By Myself

  1. A prayer of thanks for relationships, I love that. I also love those chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwiches. Do you remember when they became a thing? For some reason I’m thinking it was in the early ’80’s.

    The AL East might actually be a race come September. I didn’t expect my Yankees to be a factor, much less buyers at the deadline! We’ll see.

    Peace

    1. You may be right about the ice cream sandwiches. I have a hard time remembering what years things happened. According to the interwebs, the “Chipwich” was first introduced in 1942! I don’t remember seeing them marketed until late seventies or eighties.

      I know, man! The AL east is turning out to be quite exciting! Even Tampa and the O’s are still in the race. Unlike the West, where the ‘stros are running away with it. Where did THAT come from??

      Relationships are becoming more and more important to me, especially as I see our society losing touch with them.

      Peace back to you!

Leave a Reply

