A Great Leveling

Today is Thursday, August 3, 2017. Day 21,693. 16 days until S’s and J’s birthday!!

“No wise man ever wished to be younger.” ~ Jonathan Swift
The Quotations Page

The word of the day is splenetic, an adjective meaning, “marked by bad temper, malevolence, or spite.”

Today is Watermelon Day. Mmmm . . . there’s nothing quite like a cold, juicy watermelon on a hot summer day.

We had fun bowling, last night, as it should be. As usual, we only won one game, but at least there was the one. I actually hit my average, last night, bowling 179, 179, and 145. I had three splits (at least) in that last game, which brought me down a bit. Over all, I was bowling much better than the last couple of weeks. Our teammates will be out next Wednesday, so we will skip that night and make it up the following Monday night.

“But wait, isn’t Monday night your band practice?” Yes. However, I have elected to take a break from the band for the rest of the year. Depending on how I feel about it, I may rejoin after the first of the year.

We’ll be getting the vinyl planks delivered to our house, tonight, for our new floor installation. Not sure when that is happening, but the guy is bringing the contract over tonight.

The Red Sox got postponed by rain last night, but the Yankees lost, so the Sox are a full game up, now. Going to be an exciting run to the end of the season!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

Make a joyful noise to the LORD, all the earth! 
Serve the LORD with gladness! Come into his presence with singing!

Psalm 100:1-2
Turn to me and be gracious to me; give your strength to your servant, and save the son of your maidservant.
Psalm 86:16
O LORD, what is man that you regard him, or the son of man that you think of him? 
Man is like a breath; his days are like a passing shadow.

Psalm 144:3-4
Blessed be the Lord, who daily bears us up; God is our salvation. Selah.
Psalm 68:19
Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.
Matthew 11:28-30

(From The President’s Devotional)

Why do you pass judgment on your brother? Or you, why do you despise your brother? For we will all stand before the judgment seat of God;
Romans 14:10

“We shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ. Every robber, every king, every slave, every freeman, every pauper, every billionaire, and everyone in between.

“There will be a great leveling, a time when all our sins are laid bare before our Father. So today, let’s be careful not to judge: ‘For we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ.’

“God, place within me a humble and contrite heart. Remind me that I am a sinner, saved only by grace. And that like other sinners, I will stand before your face. Amen.” (Joshua DuBois)

Yes, and amen, Father! Remind me today of who I am, who I was before, and whose I am! When I am tempted to cast judgement on people around me, remind me of myself and whence you have saved me! Help me to love, not judge; help me to show compassion, not derision. Make me more like Jesus.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

