“Listen To Him!”

Today is Monday, August 7, 2017. Day 21,697. Only 12 more days until S’s and J’s birthday!

“Painting: The art of protecting flat surfaces from the weather and exposing them to the critic.” ~ Ambrose Bierce, The Devil’s Dictionary
The Quotations Page

The word of the day is fructify, a verb which means, “to bear fruit; to become fruitful.”

Today is Lighthouse Day. I’m a big fan of lighthouses, and have even climbed the stairs to the top of a few. Many years ago. I wouldn’t be doing that today. Do you have a favorite lighthouse?

Today is the day that the work on our new flooring will start. C will be staying home (working from home) for most, if not all, of this week. Or as long as it takes them, which is projected to be all of this week.

C and I had a great time at “Paint Nite” last night. This is, apparently, a regular thing, and even has its own Facebook page. It looks like they have events at multiple locations. Ours was at Frankie’s Downtown, in the Underground. Here are our two paintings, side by side.

The Red Sox won their sixth consecutive game, yesterday, beating the Other Sox 6-3, completing a sweep. They remain in first place, three games up on the Yankees. They begin a series with the Rays tomorrow. The Rangers lost a close one to the Twins, 6-5, and remain in fourth place, 18 behind the Astros. They begin a series with the Mets tomorrow.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL AND PRAYERS
All Scriptures are from the ESV unless otherwise noted

(From The Divine Hours)

Blessed be the name of the LORD from this time forth and forevermore! 
From the rising of the sun to its setting, the name of the LORD is to be praised!

Psalm 113:3
Who is like the LORD our God, who is seated on high, 
who looks far down on the heavens and the earth?

Psalm 113:5-6
For a day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness.
Psalm 84:9
And a voice came out of the cloud, saying, “This is my Son, my Chosen One; listen to him!”
Luke 9:35

I’m going to just briefly touch on one of the verses from today’s Divine Hours reading. By the way, if you have any interest in keeping up with those yourself, you can use this link. There are readings for morning, mid-day, and evening. I actually have the books on my Kindle, but this church provides them online.

Anyway, the verse that I want to touch on is the one from Luke 9:35. This comes from Luke’s telling of the Transfiguration event, which the Church calendar celebrated yesterday. As all of this was going on, the three disciples that Jesus brought with him heard this voice that said, “This is my Son, my Chosen One; listen to him!”

There is a lot packed into those few words. Most important is the command to listen to Jesus. While it was spoken to three men, I believe it can equally apply to us, today. We need to listen to Jesus. And the only way we can “listen” to him is to read what he said in the Gospels. I run across this verse every so often, and it always convicts me that I need to be more consistent with my readings of the Gospels. Today is no different. How can I “listen” to what Jesus is saying if I am not familiar with his words?

So, once again, I am inspired to launch into regular readings of the Gospels, that I might more familiarize myself with the words of Jesus and obey God’s command to listen to him.

Father, help me to listen. Open my ears, that I might hear the words that Jesus speaks to us.
Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on ““Listen To Him!”

  1. Regatding lighthouses ive got a good history for you. About fifteen yeats ago we habe been guests in The house of a good friend in northern Germany. He ans his grandpa habe been dentists. But his father was an architect who built most of The lighthouses on The Coast of the northern sea.

Leave a Reply

