Be Of Good Cheer, Snoopy

A good Saturday morning to you all. It probably won’t be morning by the time I finish this, but it’s 11:26 at start time. We didn’t have setup this morning for The Exchange, because the school had an unexpected event. So we will meet at 6am tomorrow to set up. Yeah. I said 6am. I’m sleepy already. So instead, Christi and I decided to go do our grocery shopping early today and get it over with. We needed to get stuff for Thanksgiving, plus buy some more healthy food, having met with a nutritionist last Wednesday evening. For the first time I can ever remember, we needed two baskets. We also went out last night and bought a small freezer (5.0 cubic feet). We’re probably going to be freezing more meat and even some possible leftovers (for example, we have two crock pot meals picked out for this week that make 8 servings each), going forward.

I appreciate everyone who remembered to pray for the little one that had heart surgery yesterday. I found out her name is Bailey (hope I’m spelling that right). The only update I got last night was that everything was good. I hope that means that the surgery was successful. I still am going to keep remembering her, though, because she’s probably got a rough road ahead.

I had a notable spam comment when I logged in this morning. “I can??t really help but admire your blog site, your site is adorable and nice” It’s nice to know that my blog is “adorable.”


Today’s Bible readings:
James 2; Ezekiel 29-30; Proverbs 28:11-19

James gives a serious warning against showing partiality in the first part of chapter 2. I know of churches today that would scowl at someone who came in poorly dressed. I’ve had family members that would likely not want to even allow someone in the worship service without a coat and tie. But James severely warns against snubbing the person who looks as though he might be poor. It’s a slippery slope when we show favoritism to the person who appears to have more money. You see, this whole church thing…it’s not about money. It’s not about having a multi-million dollar facility with all the bells and whistles. Those things are not evil, in and of themselves, but if they are the priority, then something is seriously wrong. What should the priority be? If you say “evangelism,” I’m going to give you the buzzer. The priority is worship! The body of Christ is about worshiping God! We don’t need a six million dollar sanctuary with a bowling alley in the basement to worship God. The church that welcomes the poor and needy into its doors is going to be much more blessed of God than the one that caters strictly to the wealthy. Listen to what James says (okay…read it): Listen, my beloved brothers, has not God chosen those who are poor in the world to be rich in faith and heirs of the kingdom, which he has promised to those who love him? But you have dishonored the poor man. Are not the rich the ones who oppress you, and the ones who drag you into court? Are they not the ones who blaspheme the honorable name by which you were called? If you really fulfill the royal law according to the Scripture, “You shall love your neighbor as yourself,” you are doing well. But if you show partiality, you are committing sin and are convicted by the law as transgressors. Now, I must admit I’m a little intrigued by verses 12 and 13. So speak and so act as those who are to be judged under the law of liberty. For judgment is without mercy to one who has shown no mercy. Mercy triumphs over judgment. I mean, I get verse 13. It’s a serious warning that, if we do not show mercy to others, the Lord will judge us without mercy. Therefore, mercy becomes an indicator of salvation. If we are not able to show mercy, there is a good chance that our salvation is not authentic. Our pastor put something on Facebook last night that mirrors this idea. “I don’t care how much theology you know, how you treat people is the reality of the authenticity of your walk with Christ.” This is the idea that James is addressing here. Now, verse 12…very interesting. “Speak and so act as those whoa re to be judged under the law of liberty.” Matthew Henry says that James is speaking of the law of Christ, or, the Gospel. Herein, the Gospel is referred to as a law, and it is a law of liberty, and we will be judged by this law. This should cause us to be more merciful.
The next section seems to be about a different topic, but upon closer examination, it isn’t really. James states in verse 14, What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? This has, over the years, sparked controversy in the faith vs. works argument in the church. But it is true…and there is no need to try to translate it into a works-based salvation. If we are truly saved…if we have real faith, it will produce works. Faith without works IS dead faith! And the illustration is almost humorous. If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that? It reminds me of this old Peanuts cartoon. Seriously…Charlie and Linus’s words do absolutely nothing to help poor Snoopy, who can only sit and shiver. (That is Linus, isn’t it? Or is it Schroeder?)
For comparison, James goes back to some Old Testament people. Abraham and Rahab. Their faith was completed by their works. For as the body apart from the spirit is dead, so also faith apart from works is dead. (v. 26) Now…I said this wasn’t really a different topic. My reason for saying that is that one of the most visible ways we can work out our faith is by showing mercy to others. And this is a perfect time of year to be displaying that mercy, NOT so that we look good handing out food and clothing to people, but so that GOD is glorified in our actions!


Father, whenever I read this passage in James, I have to confess that it frightens me a little bit. It makes me look at my life and examine it to see if there are, in fact, any works to support this notion that I have faith. And, while I also confess that there is much more that I could do, my examination comes away satisfied. Not satisfied that I do enough, but satisfied that, yes, there are works in my life to support my faith. My faith is not dead. I thank you for that, Father, because it is you that have prepared these good works, beforehand, for me to do. In your wisdom and perfect planning, you created me as your workmanship, and prepared works for me to do. I thank you that you have made Christi and me generous people. We do love to share with others. We thrilled at the opportunity to fill up some shoeboxes with stuff for children to send out in “Operation Christmas Child.” We have thoroughly enjoyed the chance to send support to a child in Thailand through “Compassion International.” And no, I am not boasting. God forbid! Like Paul, the only thing I have to boast in are my weaknesses which show Christ to be strong. Rather, I am giving thanks. Thanks for the works that I am able to find in my life that prove that I do, in fact, have faith. Even this setup thing that we do every Saturday for our church. We enjoy that! It is a time of fellowship and fun with other believers as we sacrifice some time on Saturday mornings for your glory!
Now…I pray for more. I pray that you would show us more opportunities to do works. Give us more of a heart to help out in areas of need. Give us more willingness to sacrifice time! That is probably one thing that we are more selfish with. We are quick to give monetary donations, clothes, food, and toys. But time…that’s more precious to us. But I also believe, Father, that, as we get more healthy and get into better shape, we will have more energy to donate time, as well. Help us to be less selfish, Lord. Help us to be more willing to give more. We want your name to be high and lifted up in the eyes of all the world. Let your name be glorified through us, Lord. And I pray that our church and its leadership will NEVER be guilty of favoring the wealthy over the poor!

Thank you, Father, for a productive morning today. I pray for the upcoming Thanksgiving celebrations. May we have good times with our families Thursday and Friday. May they also see in us the gospel worked out in real life. May we never forget to be thankful for your blessings in our lives.

I continue to pray for little Bailey. I’m told her surgery went well yesterday, but I don’t know any more details than this. I look forward to seeing her daddy next Monday and hearing more about what is going on. I thank you for the faithfulness of people who have prayed for her already.

I pray for our Worship Celebration tomorrow. May our worship be acceptable to you as we lift up your name. I pray for the message that Joel will bring to us. May we be attentive and may our spirits be open to the truths that will be shared from your Word.

Give us good rest in the rest of this day.


Let your faith be made evident by your works.

Grace and peace, friends.

5 thoughts on “Be Of Good Cheer, Snoopy

  1. it’s not Linus. Linus and Lucy are usually drawn with worry lines next to their eyes. And Linus was a bit younger at this point in the script. So most likely Schroeder.

Comments are closed.