Celebratory Fasting

Good morning. It is FRIDAY!! August 23, 2013.

Today is “Hug Your Boss Day.” If you think you can get away with that, go ahead. I’m not sure I want to.


Stephanie came through her surgery really well. (Wisdom teeth removal.) Christi said she handled everything without any complaint, even when they wound up being about an hour behind schedule. They were on their way home before I left work, so they decided to go ahead and drive out to Lake Worth to pick up Trixie, who also did very well. Stephanie didn’t say a word until about 8:30 last night. Naturally, she is in some pain, but she didn’t want to take the pain medication last night. We strongly suggested that she do it anyway, so she did. She seems to be doing great, though. Thanks for everyone who sent up prayers on our behalf yesterday.


(From Great Stories from History for Every Day)

This date in 1939 was one of those dark days in history. Joseph Stalin, of Soviet Russia, and Adolf Hitler, of Nazi Germany, signed a non-aggression pact, while at the same time agreeing on how they were going to divide up the rest of Europe. The book calls this “one of the unholiest alliances ever created,” and Churchill described it as “an unnatural act.” But the pact was, perhaps, best summed up by this David Low cartoon.

Russia and Germany over Poland
Russia and Germany over Poland

Nine days later, Nazi Germany invaded Poland. On September 15, Russia came from the east “to take her share.” The pact, agreed to last for ten years, actually only lasted 22 months. On June 22, 1941, Hitler launched Operation Barbarossa, invading Russian, “thus lending strength to the old adage that there is no honor among thieves.”


Before I get to today’s birthday, I have to say a little about yesterday’s, since I was running short on time yesterday. Of course, on a day that I didn’t have time to look at birthdays, I would later discover that August 22 is the birthday of my all-time favorite baseball player, Carl Yastrzemski, who turned 74 yesterday. “Yaz,” as he is lovingly called by his fans, had a pretty amazing career, getting over 3000 hits and over 400 home runs. Oh, and he played for, of course, the Boston Red Sox. Also on yesterday’s birthday list were Claude Debussy, 1862-1918, and Ray Bradbury, 1920-2012.

Now, on to today’s birthdays, which will pale in comparison. Gene Kelly, 1912-1996, Barbara Eden, 79, Keith Moon, 1946-1978, Shelley Long, 64, Vera Miles, 84, Sonny Jurgensen, 79, and Mark Russell, 81.


TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

To you, O LORD, I call; my rock, be not deaf to me, lest, if you be silent to me, I become like those who go down to the pit. Psalm 28:1
But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation. Psalm 13:5
Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.
Blessed is the man against whom the LORD counts no iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no deceit.
Psalm 32:1-2

Father, as I call to you this morning, I am most grateful for your provision in my life. I pray that you be my rock and my fortress today, as I trust in your unfailing love. May my heart truly rejoice in your salvation today. Teach me your ways, as I read and meditate on your words.


Today’s reading in A Year With God is called “Joyful Fasting.” The scripture reading is Zechariah 8:18-19.

And the word of the LORD of hosts came to me, saying, “Thus says the LORD of hosts: The fast of the fourth month and the fast of the fifth and the fast of the seventh and the fast of the tenth shall be to the house of Judah seasons of joy and gladness and cheerful feasts. Therefore love truth and peace.”

When the book of Zechariah was written, the Jews regularly observed four different ceremonial fasts, as noted in this passage. These fasts were designated to be joyful fasts, rather than fasts of mourning, as other designated fasts were described. This is a combination of two disciplines that are rarely seen together, fasting and celebration. Others have described fasting as a joyful experience. Dallas Willard wrote, “In fasting, we learn how to suffer happily as we feast on God.” Augustine wrote, “In his fasting, therefore, let a man rejoice inwardly in the very fact that by his fasting he is turning away from the pleasures of the world to make himself subject to Christ.” I am challenged, as I approach the end of this ten-day fasting challenge (I have not revealed the nature of my fast here, nor have I really talked about it), to consider it a “joyful thank-you to God for a blessing” in my life. I will say that there have been times of joy during this challenge, as well as times of humility and intimacy with God.


Father, I am certainly grateful for all the provision and blessing that you have placed in my life over the years. During this time of fasting from that which I feel you led me to abstain, I have experienced great joy, profound intimacy, and great humility as I have reflected and prayed. Some of my times of prayer have been extremely intense over the past few days, and confidence in prayer has heightened. Let me not take this for granted, ever. I pray that the confidence and intensity of prayer will continue and even increase. I hunger for more and more of your righteousness and intimacy.

I pray for this day. I pray for Stephanie’s pain to be minimal today, as she recovers from her wisdom teeth surgery yesterday. May your blessing fall on her today, and may she rest well. I pray for Christi to have a good day at her work today, and that my day will go smoothly, as well. I pray that we might have a restful weekend, and that our time of worship celebration on Sunday will be pleasing and glorifying to you.


It is rare to consider times of fasting as joyful, but not impossible. Fasting does not always have to indicate mourning or sorrow.

Grace and peace, friends.