United In Community

Today is Monday, November 21, 2016. Three days until Thanksgiving!

Quote of the Day

“We are all here on earth to help others; what on earth the others are here for I don’t know.” – W. H. Auden

Word of the Day

Yock – A laugh, esp. a loud or hearty one; a burst of laughter.

Today is World Hello Day. Say, “Hello” to people. Get your face out of your phone and communicate with people. Or you could spend the day listening to songs that use the word, “Hello.”

Yesterday was a good day. We had a good worship gathering, rested for the afternoon, then had our church Thanksgiving dinner at 5:30. There was lots of good food and fellowship as we ate together.

After we got home, I went ahead and did the grocery shopping. The good thing about doing the groceries at 7:00 PM is that there is hardly anyone in the store. The bad thing is that a lot of the shelf spaces are empty. But I got most of what we needed, and was able to substitute for things that weren’t available.

Today is just a normal Monday, as far as I know, but we only have a three day week, due to American Thanksgiving being Thursday. Of course, that means 1) we have to stay until everything is finished Wednesday; 2) next Monday will be challenging, because UPS does not take Friday off. But I have band practice next Monday, anyway, so staying at work a bit longer won’t be that bad. I just may not get to eat dinner until after practice.

96 days until the first Spring Training game.
133 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Bless the LORD, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name!
Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits.
Psalm 103:1-2

Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge.
I say to the LORD, “You are my Lord; I have no good apart from you.”
Psalm 16:1-2

I love you, O LORD, my strength.
The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
Psalm 18:1-2

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. Psalm 51:8

(From Praying With the Psalms)

O house of Israel, bless the LORD! O house of Aaron, bless the LORD!
O house of Levi, bless the LORD! You who fear the LORD, bless the LORD!
Blessed be the LORD from Zion, he who dwells in Jerusalem! Praise the LORD!
Psalm 135:19-21

We all come from different heritages, different occupations, and most certainly, different temperaments; we are divided into various groups. However, there is one thing that unites us into a complete community, and that is worship. “In the act of worship, we offer adoration and allegiance to God and find our differences joined in a community of praise.”

“Father, my needs and my experiences put me with people who feel the way I do; your commands place me with the people among whom you are working out a common purpose. Help me to become a participant with those who are praising what you have done, not congratulating one another on what they have done. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

Father, I thank you that you have placed me in community with such a diverse group of people. It stretches me, at times, and forces me out of my comfort zone. Forgive me when I refuse to be pulled out of my comfort zone. Help me to identify with, not so much the people, but with your interests in those people. We are a community of faith, and our unifying purpose is to become and make disciples of Jesus Christ.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends.